Tales of the Peculiar 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

This short book contains an assortment of short stories referenced multiple times in the series, “The Tales.”

Millard Nullings has taken his favorite stories and compiled them into a book with a few of his owm footnotes and annotations. This book gives a new glimpse into the world of the Peculiar and all the legends that surround them. These stories have to do with their beginnings as well as why certain things are the way they are, in the world of the Peculiar as well as in the lives of normals.

The stories were all really short and quick reads. They are perfect for reading when you are waiting on something because of how the stories are broken up.

I enjoyed being able to learn about the history of the Peculiars and Millard’s notes made them all the better. Each story begins with a sketch depicting a character or something important from the legend. While these aren’t the photographs that are customary in the series, the sketches are outstanding and give a good focal break between the stories.

The style of writing in the legends is similar to that of the series, and that consistency makes it easy to read these stories and be able to understand things better.

I enjoyed reading this book as a way to wrap up my reading from the series, even though you could read it at any time during the series.

Library of Souls

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

This is the last and final book in the Peculiar Children series. In this book, we follow Emma and Jacob on a mission to save not only Miss Peregrine and the other children, but all of Peculiardom together. We follow the two to the darkest depths of the Peculiar world, in the corners and crevices where the evil resides and the good have been drained and turned into something that doesn’t even qualify as fully human, Devil’s Acre. Emotions drained, memories drained, and the valued elixir brings everything to higher stakes. Jacob and Emma befriend the unlikeliest of characters, unsavory and intimidating, but see that appearances are not always the clearest reality of what lies beneath the surface.

In this book, Jacob learns to control his power even more and other extents of his power that he didn’t know existed previously. Together, with the help of Emma, he does what he can for this new world that he has just entered into, but will he do it in time to save all the others from aging forward and before another mass experiment is completed. And, what about his parents?

The pacing in the book was good. Some parts were a little slower than others, but when the action was happening, the pace picked up and balanced it out. I enjoyed the insight into the new characters as well as further into some known characters. The pictures included in this book were like the other pictures in the other two books in the sequel. They were exquisite and added to the story in a way that makes it all more believable.

The ending left me satisfied. It tied everything up in neat package that answered most of the unanswered questions and gave a way to let the characters continue on with their lives, without having the need for the story to continue.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the entire series.

Hollow City

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

In this book, we continue the adventure of Jacob and the rest of the peculiars. As Miss Peregrine is incapacitated in her current state, the group has to do their best to save her before her time runs out. Running through various time loops and using their one remaining book the “Tales,” the group does their best to find Miss Wren. Led by Jacob, decided by Emma, and gently nudged by Miss Peregrine, the group finds their way through London, the place that peculiars thrive (so to speak). What starts out as a saddened journey quickly turns to one of small hopes that they might make it in time. But when they finally get to the end of their rope to save Miss Peregrine, the group wonders if they did enough and Jacob is left contemplating his future. The ending is one that, though I saw coming, I didn’t see all of it coming.

This book is written in the same manner as the first. The language used and the structure of the writing is amazing. The story keeps you captivated from the first page to the last and the pictures help add to the story in a way you never thought possible. If you liked the first, you will love the second. I can only imagine what the third book holds.